Complete (ISC2)2 Certification Guide

Cybersecurity is a top priority for enterprises today. Cybersecurity is a major concern for organizations. These threats include data breaches, IoT device vulnerabilities and mobile malware. A survey of chief executives in the United States revealed that cybersecurity was ranked second to fear of recession and new competition as their top concern. A growing shortage of cybersecurity professionals is another reason.
There are many cybersecurity certifications available from vendors like Microsoft and Cisco. Additionally, there are vendor-neutral programs offered by organizations like CompTIA, the Information Systems Audit and Control Association, Global Information Assurance Certification, (GIAC) and (ISC).
International Information System Security Certification Consortium 2 (ISC2) is a non-profit organization that focuses on cybersecurity training and professional certification. The ISC2 certification programs offer the most comprehensive cybersecurity certifications available.
This guide provides a detailed introduction to the ISC2 certification programs, the recommended ISC2 certification paths, the costs associated and insight into job opportunities that are related to the ISC Certification Path.
Learn how to become a security expert with SPOTO’s Cybersecurity Training
Start trainingWhat is the (ISC)2 Certificate?
The ISC2 certifications are internationally recognized as symbols of excellence and security in IT security. Employers and IT professionals alike value the (ISC]2 Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP), and (ISC]2 Certified Cloud Security Professional(CCSP) certifications.
Employers can prove that potential employees have the cybersecurity skills required to protect their networks, information, and enterprise systems with (ISC2)2 certifications.
The (ISC)2 certification sets includes the Certified Information Systems Security Professionals (CISSP), Certified Cloud Security Professionals (CCSP), and the Certified Authorization Professionals (CAP). The Certified Secure Software Lifecycle Professionals (CSSLP) are also included in the (ISC)2 certification set. (ISC)2 certification recognizes the unique security and compliance requirements of the healthcare sector. It also includes the HealthCare Information Security and Privacy Practitioner.
For career cybersecurity professionals who wish to improve upon their (ISC.2) CISSP certification, (ISC.2) has created CISSP Concentrations. These validate expertise in one or several information security specializations.
(ISC2) Certification Process
Candidates can be certified by (ISC)2 through a multi-step process.
Meet (ISC2)2 requirements for work experience in the security field.
Pass the ISC2 certification exam.
To verify your professional experience and standing within the cybersecurity industry, complete the (ISC2)2 endorsement process.
Accept to support the (ISC2)2 Code of Ethics.
Initial (ISC2 Annual Maintenance Fee) (AMF) $125 to receive (ISC2) certification.
Members pay one AMF regardless how many certifications they have.
The (ISC)2 certification path recognizes the “chicken-and-egg” nature of work experience and has an on ramp for professionals who don’t have the required work experience to become certified. Candidates can take any (ISC2) certification exam through the Associate of (ISC2)2 program without having to have work experience. After passing the exam, the person is made an Associate of the (ISC)2 program and works to get the work experience necessary to become fully certified.
(ISC2)2 Certifications
(ISC.2) has a wide range of security certifications that align with the (ISC.2) Common Body of Knowledge (CBK). This compendium of cybersecurity topics is updated each year to reflect the most recent in IT security knowledge. (ISC.2)